Home » Full List Of Past Ballon d’Or Winners Since 1956 to 2019
Football Lists Past Winners

Full List Of Past Ballon d’Or Winners Since 1956 to 2019


Virgil van Dijk and Lionel Messi are currently the favourites to succeed Luka Modric as the next Ballon d’Or winner and it will certainly be a close one after the Liverpool defender won the UEFA Player of the year award in August. This award used to be merged with the Fifa Best Player award from 2010-2015 but this changed in 2015.

When is the Ballon d’Or ceremony taking place?

The date and venue of the 2019 Ballon d’Or (which is organised by France Football) is yet to be revealed by the creators of the award.

The 2019 Ballon d’Or will be the 64th one in the history of the prestigious award, which was first given to Sir Stanley Matthews back in 1956.

Past Winners of Ballon d’Or Award

Let’s take a look at the past winners of Ballon d’Or award. From 1956 only European players were eligible for the award but in 1995, any player of any nationality (playing for a European club) is has been deemed eligible.

2018Luka Modric (latest)CroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano Ronaldo PortugalReal Madrid
2012 Lionel MessiArgentinaFC Barcelona
2011Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2010Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2009Lionel Messi ArgentinaFC Barcelona
2008Cristiano Ronaldo PortugalManchester United
2007Kaká  BrazilAC Milan
2006Fabio Cannavaro ItalyReal Madrid/Juventus
2005Ronaldinho BrazilBarcelona
2004Andriy Shevchenko UkraineAC Milan
2003Pavel Nedvěd Czech RepublicJuventus
2002Ronaldo BrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael Owen EnglandLiverpool
2000Luís Figo PortugalReal Madrid
1999Rivaldo BrazilBarcelona
1998Zinedine Zidane FranceJuventus
1997Ronaldo BrazilInter Milan
1996Matthias Sammer GermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George Weah LiberiaAC Milan
1994Hristo Stoichkov BulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto Baggio ItalyJuventus
1992Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1991Jean-Pierre Papin FranceMarseille
1990Lothar Matthäus  GermanyInter Milan
1989Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1988Marco van Basten NetherlandsAC Milan
1987Ruud Gullit Netherlands AC Milan
1986Igor Belanov Soviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1984Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1983Michel Platini FranceJuventus
1982Paolo Rossi  ItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz Rummenigge GermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz Rummenigge GermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin Keegan EnglandHamburg
1977Allan Simonsen DenmarkBorussia Monchengladbach
1976Franz Beckenbauer GermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg Blokhin Soviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1974Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan Cruyff NetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz Beckenbauer GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan Cruyff  NetherlandsBarcelona
1970Gerd Müller GermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni Rivera ItalyMilan
1968George Best Northern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián Albert HungaryFerencv rosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1965Eusébio PortugalBenfica
1964Denis Law ScotlandManchester United
1963Lev Yashin Soviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef Masopust CzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar Sívori ItalyJuventus
1960Luis Suárez SpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di Stéfano SpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di Stéfano SpainReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool


None of the videos and major sports events streams are hosted, uploaded, or affiliated with us in any way. We simply crawl and index data from sites online and videos related to various sporting events that are available to stream online. All highlights, videos, and live streams are not actually on SportMargin and are indexed from other sources.

DMCA Compliance – Any video content found on this site is not uploaded or created by us, our servers do not host any video you find on our website.

If you have any issues, requests or would like to report any copyright issues feel free to contact us by using the form available here.

Leave a Comment